Elm Pathway

Our Learners

These are our learners who have a range of severe and complex needs; many have physical difficulties linked to a combination of other severe difficulties such as cognitive processing needs and sensory needs. Our learners are at early levels of development (typically assessed between P4 and P8) for most of their time in school, although some of our learners may progress onto our Oak curriculum.

It is important to recognise that there are many differences in individual profiles of this group of learners and these learning profiles may well be spikey. Our learners may move through developmental milestones if they have the sensory, physical and cognitive ability to do so. However, it is important to remember that this group of learners do not have delayed development, as this suggests that given time they can ‘catch up’ with their typically developing peers. All learners will follow a Personal Learning Plan and additional Learning Intentions will link to developmental skills appropriate for that individual.

Our Curriculum

Elm curriculum has a Programme of Learning which outlines the essential opportunities for each learner, in the following six main areas:

  • Communication

  • Cognition

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

  • Physical & Independence

  • Understanding the World

  • Creative & Expressive Arts

This curriculum is related to the experiences and interests of each individual. Learning is developed through structured play and a variety of functional activities linked to a thematic approach. Older learners will be expected to achieve accreditation in awards and certificates that make use of formal accreditation schemes which are carefully matched to the needs of learners.